End of an Era

Goodbye Fullmetal

So there aren’t a lot of tv series or book series that I have been in to from start to finish.  There have been a few, among them are Harry Potter, Ghost in the Shell, Bleach, Naruto, Trigun and some other manga.  I’m a big fan of anime and manga.  I don’t think because things are animated that they are any less compelling or that they are meant for kids.  Frankly, the writing and depth of story far exceeds anything done in the West often times.  I actually think the crappy cartoons here are what gives anime a bad name to begin with and people don’t even give it a chance.  Manga is similar because people think comic books or graphic novels are for nerds.  I don’t proclaim to not be a nerd, but I think it’s fair to say that you shouldn’t always judge a book by its cover.

For anyone that has become emotionally invested (I’m not sure if that is the right term) in a story or a series then you know the feeling of loss when it ends.  Well, this week’s issue of Fullmetal Alchemist was the last issue.  I was sad but I think the writer did a great job wrapping things up.  I’m not going to get into the story or anything but suffice it to say that there will be that feeling of loss when I don’t have a new issue to red next month.  The manga is not the same as the animated show, so if you’ve seen that, you aren’t necessarily familiar with the real story.  Both the manga and anime are the same up to a point in the story and then they diverge.  The producers for the show felt the direction of the manga wasn’t conducive to a show.

For those interested in manga or just have some time to kill I would like to recommend a few:  Naruto, Bleach, and Fullmetal Alchemist.  It always takes some time to get in to but they are all very good.  I would say that Bleach is probably the best to start with because the pace of it is pretty quick–there aren’t a lot of “filler” episodes.  Naruto and Bleach are both available Thursdays (usually) and all the manga you could possibly want can be found at One Manga.

It’s Friday and after yesterday’s lengthly article I would like to keep it short today.  For those of you that don’t know, World Cup play starts today.  The same people that don’t know that probably also don’t have a computer with which to check out a blog.  Anyway, I pretty bummed out about Didier Drogba’s injury (click link for a great story about this).  I was really excited for the Ivory Coast, easily the best team of the Host continent.  With their draw putting them in the group of death, I don’t like their chances without Drogba.  I also want to blame Alexi Lalas for any nationwide disappointment if the US doesn’t beat England.  He has become the face of US soccer thanks to ESPN and if he’s the only person you get exposed to then you’re probably gonna buy what he’s saying.  If I’m referring to you, just go back to watching baseball anyway because you don’t care about the World Cup.   Personally I think we have a chance thanks to some last minute additions to the national team at the striking positions.  I just hope Bob Bradley can figure out how to play them.

US ties England: 1-1

NBA recap: Boston by 6.  Boston did everything it could and everything they are known for.  Balanced scoring and defense–just check the final score.  The bench was a beast and make no mistake, Boston has a better bench.  LA has a better 7 man rotation but Boston can do a full line change almost and give teams fits.  Doc’s faith in his bench has allowed him to shift gears a couple times in the playoffs now and crushed my champion pick-Orlando in a Game 5 show from Nate Robinson.  If they can somehow stick with that formula and not the Big 3 mentality I think they can do it.

Firm of the Day: David Jameson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

